Forbidden Planet trailer from 1956

Every girl needs her own robot — and a monster to bring down her handsome hero.

I fear I have seen way too many of Leslie Nielsen’s later movies to really associate him with this one, but I did see “Forbidden Planet” more than once (maybe 2-3 times) when I was a kid.

This video’s uploader claims it is the original trailer for the MGM movie “Forbidden Planet”, supposedly the first science fiction movie they ever produced. At a whopping 3 minutes and 49 seconds, the trailer is almost a mini-feature.

“Forbidden Planet” premiered in 1956 (before I was born), the same year as “Earth vs. the Flying Saucers”. I have to admit that I was always more impressed with “Forbidden Planet”, which is credited with having inspired many a science fiction movie and novel.


SF-Fandom is a fan-run moderated Web discussion community devoted to science fiction, fantasy, history, and mythology. Founded in 2001, SF-Fandom is part of the Xenite.Org Network of science fiction and fantasy Web sites.

Comments are closed.