Xenite launches new Harry Potter fan site

The sun has not quite set on the Harry Potter franchise. J.K. Rowling may have written all the books for the series but we’re still waiting on three more movies.

Truth be told, however, we’ve only just started to move out of the “what comes next” phase of fan discussions and we’re still standing on the threshold of the “what does it all mean” phase, which can last quite a few years.

Academics and professional film and book critics have nothing on the fan communities when it comes to analyzing J.K. Rowling’s literature, but there’s always room for a few more guesses, insights, and connections.

With that proposition in mind, I’ve finally put together the heart of what I hope will become a large dedicated fan site for Harry Potter. The new Harry Potter section on Xenite.Org is packed with videos and information about the books and movies (yes, you can find the same basic info everywhere).

But as a promise of more yet to come I’ve introduced each of the eight sections with brief articles that provide some insightful connections between Harry Potter and literature or history that you may or may not have seen before. I hope you find some new content there.

The videos took a fair amount of time to put together. You can now see trailers for all the movies without having to hunt for them, and there are some extra videos (interviews with the actors and such). The site acts like a concise retrospective for the entire series.

Future work includes adding more video content, pictures, and more articles (preferably of the thoughtful kind — I have no real desire to try to be a Harry Potter news site).

I’ve looked at Harry Potter from several different angles, including comparing some aspects of the series to the works of Alexander Dumas — but I hope I’ve only just touched the surface of what I have yet to write about Harry. He’s a fascinating character and I think the Harry Potter world is an amazing place. I’ll do my best in the coming years to look at it outside the fan box perspective.

The dedicated Harry Potter site’s URL is http://harry-potter.xenite.org/. I’ll be interested to hear what you like and don’t like about it.


SF-Fandom is a fan-run moderated Web discussion community devoted to science fiction, fantasy, history, and mythology. Founded in 2001, SF-Fandom is part of the Xenite.Org Network of science fiction and fantasy Web sites.

Comments are closed.