Nicolas Cage talks about ‘Knowing’

The Nicolas Cage movie “Knowing” is coming to DvD at a store near you and it looks like there is a publicity campaign running to help boost sales.

The Examiner has published an interview with Cage, a self-admitted science fiction fan, about the movie.

I saw “Knowing” in the theater and I have to admit that I found it to be a little depressing (okay, it was a whole lot depressing). The ending puts a twist on the whole Christian theme of “the elect”, “many are called, few are chosen”, etc. It struck me as a copout but I suppose other people saw it as an upbeat and positive resolution to the conflict.

I like Nicolas Cage when his characters are the good guys, the whole comes out nonetheworse for whatever adventure they run through, and I leave the theater with a good feeling. Both the “National Treasure” movies were like that for me, but I’ve seen Cage in many other movies. His “Matchstick Men” was a classic in many ways, even though the ending was kind of weird (the world did not end and it seemed that his character was doing all right).

“Next” was an okay movie for me, although I guessed what was happening about a third of the way through the movie. I loved “Ghost Rider” just because I love those kinds of movies. Hated “The Wicker Man”. “Windtalkers” was an emotionally riveting movie, especially once I figured out the ending (about 2 seconds before it happened). “Face Off” was fantastic.

Nicolas Cage can do just about anything he wants, and if he really wants to do more science fiction I’m sure I’ll watch it. But I’m not thrilled with these “end of the world” movies where humanity really doesn’t even have a chance. Frankly, that’s totally un-Christian, since the basic premise behind the New Testament’s message is that everyone is free to choose to be with Christ and be saved regardless of how terrible the future may become.

You can destroy the world in SF but you have to leave hope that something of humanity will survive. That’s what I want to see. It can’t be that humanity will be rebooted. That’s a cheat. Wiping out all that has happened before so we can “start over” is not hopeful — it’s defeatist.


SF-Fandom is a fan-run moderated Web discussion community devoted to science fiction, fantasy, history, and mythology. Founded in 2001, SF-Fandom is part of the Xenite.Org Network of science fiction and fantasy Web sites.

Comments are closed.