“Raw Hobbit” from MerpCon V

I did my solo panel yesterday at MerpCon V and decided at the last moment to shake things up a bit. Instead of just doing another talk (I’ve done so many through the years) I decided to borrow a page from William Shatner’s book and reinvent myself as a talk show host.

So on a whim I set up two chairs in the presentation room ala Shatner’s “Raw Nerve” set and invited members of the audience to sit and talk with me. I asked them hard, pointed questions (well, as hard and pointed as I could think of on the spot with no preparation).

The people seemed to like it. Hawke Robinson, the organizer for MERPCon, recorded the session and should make it available somewhere down the road.

I enjoyed speaking with other fans and sharing the limelight. Later this morning (10:00 PM Pacific Time) I’ll be hosting a panel with young Tolkien fans. That session will be broadcast live as all MERPCon events are.

Some representatives from SpoCon 2009 dropped by to check out MERPCon. They’re interested in building a Tolkien track next year and are talking with Hawke. I’ll let you know if I hear anything.

Hawke and I will also be doing a live broadcast of Middle-earth Talk Radio tonight at 5:00 PM (Pacific Time Zone) from MERPCon. I hope you can check it out.

Comments are closed.