NW England to celebrate Tolkien’s Ents on November 15, 2009

I don’t have a lot of information to share on this but I thought it was such a cool announcement. I am picking up the story from Easier.com, which published a press release or a story developed from a press release about several events and kid-related activities being held in Grizedale Forest through October and November 2009.

I am pretty sure that Grizedale is in northwest England but my geographical knowledge of that area is very limited. Is it in Lancashire? (Actually, if it is, that doesn’t mean much to me.)

The actual event occurs on November 15:

‘Ent’ Heads
Date: Sunday 15 November
Time: 10.30am – 1pm and 1.30pm – 4pm
Duration: Varies depending on the nature of your creation.
Cost: £2.00
Age: All ages
Meeting place: The Yan, Grizedale Centre
Booking required: Just drop in. All children must be accompanied by an adult.
Description: Create your own ‘Ent’! Ents are guardians of the trees and protect our ancient lands against dark forces. Materials provided.

You can learn more about Grizedale Forest from The UK Forestry Commission. Fans of J.R.R. Tolkien will be very interested, I am sure. I hope someone posts pictures of the Ent heads after they are created on the Web somewhere so the rest of us can view them.

Comments are closed.