Sequels to Arthur and the Invisibles

It seems that Luc Besson has all-but completed the first of two sequels to “Arthur and the Invisibles”, the 2006 movie based on the book of the same name. Freddie Highmore and Mia Farrow return in this year’s “Arthur and the Revenge of Maltazard” (due to be released in the US on December 18 but elsewhere in the world at earlier dates). Freddie and Mia will also co-star in 2010’s “Arthur and the Two Worlds War”.

Arthur is the grandson of a great explorer, Archibald, who discovered the means of visiting a very tiny, magical race of beings called the Minimoys. When Archibald has been missing for several years and his wife is about to lose their house, Arthur rescues his grandfather and finds a small fortune in gems that saves the farm.

Luc Besson gave us “The Fifth Element” and the three “Transporter” movies among other projects so his work is well-established and of the highest quality (in my opinion). I saw “Arthur and the Invisibles” in the theater and was pleasantly surprised by it. I think I may have the DvD somewhere.

Sequels have a hard time living up to the standards set by the first movie in any franchise, but we’ve seen a few superior sequels show up from time to time. I hope people will enjoy the next two “Arthur” movies. I hope I do.

Comments are closed.