3-D Movie Theater Tickets Increase

It’s time to pay the piper. Everyone knows at the back of their minds that there is a price to pay for new technology. So far, we’ve gotten off lightly on the consumer cost of the latest 3-D movie technology.

Sure, there have been long lines, and the ticket prices bumped up from around $10 to $13. But now AMC Theaters and Regal Cinemas just increased the ticket price for 3-D movies again this weekend. News reports suggest that it should cost around $15 in most markets for a 3-D movie ticket.

And you still have to wear the goofy glasses, too.

On top of that, new blockbuster movies are being released in 3-D. Warner Brothers announced earlier this week that “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows” will be distributed in 3-D format. I hope that is not ONLY in 3-D format.

Warner Brothers, are you listening? It’s cool to see things pop off the screen every now and then, but the goofy glasses are not comfortable.

We’re all waiting for true holographic projection technology. I would estimate that is still 10-15 years away from commercial production. I hope I’m pleasantly surprised in the next 5 years.

Frankly, I would pay $25 a ticket for a real holographic movie — especially one where the holograms are substantial enough that I would not be looking at my fellow audience movies through “ghosts”.

So, I’ll continue to see movies in the cinema. I love the experience. I’m not happy about the prices. But I love stadium seating, huge wide screens, and the 3-D effects are tolerable for me (for now).

Comments are closed.