Seeker fans launch campaign to save their show

So you think that if some people at Entertainment Weekly and eOnline say that Legend of the Seeker is dead, that’s all there is to it, do you? The rallying cry for fans seems to be: “Nothing OFFICIAL has been said yet!”

While that might seem like a flimsy line upon which to cast one’s hope, one of the neat things about science fiction and fantasy fandom is that fans care — they have passion for their favorite books, their favorite television shows, and their favorite movies. Star Trek fans and Star Wars fans and Tolkien fans are all cut from the same cloth: they love the fantastic worlds that have opened new doors for their imaginations.

Terry Goodkind’s hardcore Sword of Truth fans may or may not have taken Legend of the Seeker to their hearts, but many other people have. Heck, I enjoy the show and I hope it continues for another 3-6 years. But I’ve been around long enough to know it’s a rare television show (especially in the fantasy TV genre) that lasts that long.

Still, the current generation of fans are as passionate and dedicated and soul-loving as the fans I grew up with and first met at science fiction conventions and on the Internet. Their spirits are fierce. Their hearts are pure.

And they have begun organizing a campaign to let ABC/Disney know they are NOT happy with any decision that results in Legend of the Seeker ending at 2 seasons. The first salvo in this ambitious last-minute battle has been launched. You can sign an online petition for Season 3 of the Seeker.

If you want to participate in the organization process by contributing ideas, offering resources, or providing encouragement there is a new discussion at LegendoftheSeeker.Org titled The Renewal Warwagon. I did not start it, but it’s worth nothing this is a big deal to Seeker fans.

Fans are rallying behind the banner to renew Legend of the Seeker for Season 3.

Fans are rallying behind the banner to renew Legend of the Seeker for Season 3.

I love this banner. It is SO Seekerific, if I may coin a term.

So, will this work? I have no idea. But I figure it’s worth a try. I absolutely do not like what I have seen of SyFy’s show Merlin. I turn off the television after I finish watching Stargate: Universe. SyFy says they were not impressed with fan response to their Seeker marathon. That just shows you what happens with poor planning.

Anyway, I’ve been down this path before. I’ve known the victory of success and the heartbreak of disappointment. I’m not yet too old to care. In fact, they can pry my passion from my cold dead fingers — and they may not have the strength to do it then.

6 responses to “Seeker fans launch campaign to save their show

  1. Pingback: Territorialism » Blog Archive » Legend of the Seeker Fans Work to Revive Show

  2. Pingback: The Fastest Cash For You - Angry Fans Gear up to Demand ABC save the Seeker

  3. Pingback: Understanding Marketplace

  4. This is the War. grrr.

  5. I want the third season pleaseeeeeeeeeeee!!!

  6. 3SEASON PLZZZZZZZ!!!!!