Mike Mahaffey for Bilbo in ‘The Hobbit’

Does Mike Mahaffey look like a hobbit to you? He sure does to me.

Mike Mahaffey is a real actor (I just linked to his IMDB listing) and it seems he wants to play Bilbo Baggins in “The Hobbit”.

That would be the role of a lifetime, as I’m sure Elijah Wood could tell you.

So, what do you think? Should Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro be calling Mahaffey once “The Hobbit” is greenlighted?

Let’s hope so.

Good luck, Mike!

13 responses to “Mike Mahaffey for Bilbo in ‘The Hobbit’

  1. I’m a huge fan of Mike, I saw his audition on youtube and he would kill in this part! Totally the guy I pictured when I read the book! Good luck Mike!

  2. Alissa Archer

    He’s the only actor for the role. Too perfect to turn away.

  3. Having seen Mike’s work in person, I can tell you he’d be absolutely amazing. I’d go see this movie starring him even more times than I’m already planning on! 🙂

  4. I know he would make an AMAZING Bilbo!

  5. Oh wow yeah!
    I saw this guys audition on YouTube. He rocked!
    I’m a long long time fan of the hobbit and actually think this guy would do bilbo justice.

  6. Break a leg Mike. You’re perfect for Bilbo

  7. Here is a link to Mike’s YouTube audition. I’ll do a follow up post in a few days.

  8. Yeah this is shot really great and I can’t think of anyone who would be better for playing bilbo!

  9. Agreed! They should definitely call Mike!

  10. Mike would make a wonderful Bilbo! They need a real actor in this part and Mike’s audition proves he has the ability, sensitivity, and intelligence to pull it off. He clearly has the chops and the look. I hope they give him a chance!

  11. Just saw the Youtube posting and that guy looks perfect for the role. Solid acting chops too. Definitely fits Bilbo for the big screen.

  12. Kristina Miller

    I think Mike would make a great bilbo! He has such a wide personality and its perfect for this kind of “period-like” style. I have had Mike as a teacher and I have also seen his work at the Renascence Fair, where he played a hilarious and sassy man trying to teach the modern men how to be chivalrous. He is a wonderful actor, teacher and swordsman and deserves this part! Is probably the best person to work next to! Please PLEASE choose Mike Mahaffey!

  13. Jillian E.

    he really does look like a hobbit. Plus has major on-camera fighting chops. Plus is a really good actor. The question is why WOULDN’T one cast Mike as Bilbo?