Help Fund a Cthulhu-based Game on Kickstarter

I have never heard of Sandy Petersen but I have heard of some of his games. So I was pleasantly surprised to find out I know someone who knows him (personally, as in they are old friends). Sandy Petersen lives in Rockwall, TX (just outside of Dallas) and he has worked on some of the most popular adventure games around including Runequest and Elfquest (to name just two).

Petersen is running a Kickstarter campaign to raise $300,000 in seed money by December 3, 2012 for the development of a game based on H.P. Lovecraft’s Cthulhy mythos. Petersen’s first endeavor in this field was the cult classic Call of Cthulhu adventure game.

As with most (if not all) Kickstarter fund-raising projects you get an increasing number of perks the more money you donate to the cause. Also, if the campaign fails to raise enough pledges to match its goal then no one’s money is accepted. That is, your money remains in your (virtual) pocket until the campaign is closed out, and only if the targeted number of pledges is reached will the money be collected.

So if you make a pledge be sure you set a calendar alert to help you check your bank account. You don’t want to accidentally spend the money you pledge and then forget to replace it.

Although I have read a number of Lovecraft stories and watched a few of the movies inspired by his works I’m not as hard-core as some fans. Still, I thought this was a pretty cool project that deserved as much attention as I could help point to it.

Good luck, Sandy. I hope you reach your goal.

Comments are closed.