A Few Recent Movie Reviews

a1moviereviewsWhile I am not aspiring to become a professional movie critic, a friend of mine owns a movie review site he had shut down a few years back.  About a year ago I thought it would be fun to resurrect the site and publish some new reviews.  Ideally, I’d love to see the old team of writers get back into action but they have all moved on so for now it’s just a fun project.  But here are some of the reviews I have published:

Beauty and the Beast – As of this writing that is the most recent review.  Short version: I loved the movie.  Long version, well, read it.  I thought it was exceptionally well done.

Logan – This was an interesting take on the X-Men cinematic universe.  Although I liked the movie overall I did find a few things to complain– I mean, I tried to write a balanced review.

Passengers – While the “science” in this movie leaves something to be desired it certainly goes father toward being scientific than many other movies.  And I thought the story was great, especially the moral dilemma Chris Pratt’s character faces.  What would you do if you found yourself in that situation?  So much could go wrong.

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – This is, in my opinion, a far better Star Wars movie than any since “The Phantom Menace”.  Don’t even hope you can convince me “Phantom Menace” was a bad movie.  Let’s just focus on how great “Rogue One” is, okay?  I would ask why they don’t make more movies like Rogue One, but you know they’ll try to.  The Hollywood machine doesn’t encourage innovation so much as copying success.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – I loved this movie and I was thrilled (when I first heard about it) that we would be seeing more films set in the Harry Potter universe.  Frankly, that makes the realism more effectively realistic, if you know what I mean.  It’s sort of like with “Rogue One”.  You get to see that other people in that universe have stories and adventures and cares and concerns, too.  And I think it’s a great movie.

Doctor Strange – This one was a little bit uneven but overall a good movie.  Tilda Swinton surprised everyone with her portrayal of the Ancient One.  We all knew she had great talent but she made the character more believable than many of us feared.  Of course, there was a guy in there, Benedict or something, who did pretty damn good, too.

Suicide Squad – Lest you think I only review movies that I just absolutely love, I did review “Suicide Squad”, which I did not absolutely love.   But to be honest I’m not a real film critic.  I would rather watch movies I can love than just watch movies because I have to review them.  I applaud Roger Ebert and his proteges who literally sit through hundreds of movies per year.  I’m not sure I could do that.  RIP Roger.  You’ll always be in our hearts.

Star Trek Beyond – Not exactly my favorite in the ST series by any means, but I thought it was a solid movie.

Independence Day: Resurgence – I think I liked this movie better than the professional pundits, but I don’t recall all that they had to say.  Yes, there was some silliness in it but where else are you going to get bigger and better spaceships?  Besides which, Elvish has left the building!

Warcraft – I loved this movie.  I watched it over and over again.  I never played Warcraft so I did not have any previous existing loyalties to anything.  I don’t blame people for being disappointed in a visualization of a world they have loved reading about or gaming in, but if you have never played Warcraft and you did not watch this movie, I think you should give it a chance.

Although I have written the majority of the recent articles, I think you would enjoy browsing the site.  I still have to find time to restore many old articles but I think there are close to 200 on there now.  You might enjoy reading old reviews by Gregor Turley, Shane Rivers, and Roxanne Downer.  Check out the Sitemap page for a full list of writers whose articles are available.

You can also follow A1 Movie Reviews on Twitter at @a1moviereviews to see notifications of when new reviews go live.  The account also retweets links to older reviews and/or blog posts every day.

Comments are closed.